Medical Advisory Board

The Friendly Society Medical Institute’s Board of Directors relies on the advice and expertise of the Medical Advisory Committee, which is instrumental in helping The Friendlies continue to grow with the needs of the community and to be a Medical Service of Excellence.

The Committee, in conjunction with the Board of Directors, formulate and implement policies and procedures concerning patient care and the development of the hospital’s services and facilities.

The Committee provides clinical governance oversight for the Hospital in line with best practice, legislative requirements and organisational policies to ensure safe and high-quality service delivery.

Our current Medical Advisory Committee is made up of:

Dr David Merefield General Medical Practitioner Anaesthesia – Chairman
Dr Lloyd Sussens General Medical Practitioner – Vice Chairman
Dr Johan Kuyler Specialist – Neurology
Dr Grant Phillips Specialist – General Surgery
Dr Joe Stofberg Specialist – General Surgery
Dr Andre Conradie Specialist – Cardiology
Dr Rakesh Bilwani Specialist – Radiology
Dr Joseph Tobias Specialist – Anaestesia
Dr Phil Gaudin Specialist – Emergency
Dr Emeka Nwufoh Specialist – Emergency
Dr Jacob van der Westhuizen Specialist – Orthopaedics
Dr Simon Hosking General Medical Practitioner
Dr Preshy Varghese General Medical Practitioner
Dr Gareth Hart Physician – Nephrology
Mrs Norma Frost Director of Clinical Services – FSPH
Chief Executive Officer – FSPH
Mr Les Hancock Chairman – Medical Institute Board of Directors
Translate »